Coffeeneuring Trip #1

Date: October 8, 2016

Mileage: 20.9 miles

Drink description: Slightly substandard drip coffee

Bike Friendly: Nope

October 7 kicked off coffeeneuring season!  Check out all the rules here.

October 7 also kicked off my 20th high school reunion!  I saw people that I haven’t seen in at least 20 years, and a few for even longer.  My younger cousins played in the football game, food was eaten, many laughs were shared, and a good time was enjoyed by all.

4friends
I squint when I laugh.

So since I’m at the old hometown, why not go for a ride and coffeeneur it?  One of my classmates joined me on the ride, which made it even better.  We rode around the Cane River National Historical Area. That includes Melrose Plantation, home of Clementine Hunter; Oakland Plantation; and St Augustine Church.  It’s relatively new to me to see it all as a National Park (this happened after I graduated), but I’m so glad that the area is being cared for and restored.  Lots of history in this very old region.

staugbike
St Augustine Church

We rode 20 easy miles, talked and laughed, cursed the incessant headwind that seemed to blow in our face no matter which direction we rode, and enjoyed a cup of coffee at Oakland Plantation afterwards.  It was a coffee shop without walls that embraced the spirit of coffeeneuring.

oaklandbike
Oakland Plantation Visitor Center with coffee

No trip to Natchitoches is complete without a meat pie, so we refueled at Lasyone’s.  More coffee was consumed, but since we drove, it was outside the coffeeneuring rules.  It was the perfect end to a reunion trip though!

meatpie
Everything fried!  Yum yum!
Leave a Reply

